Gadgets

ANT attack!


No this isn’t about ANT the the build tool but real live Ants πŸ™‚

Recently I heard a minor explosion coming from my TV/WD HD player/WiFi Router area in my living room. I ignored it at first thinking that I stepped on my kids toys that lie around the place all the time.

But unfortunately, later I found out that my WD HD player was not working…there was no power coming to the device. 😦

The minor explosion I heard was actually the power adapter of the player being short circuited and burning out! Inspecting the adapter’s plug from the outside I found many ants (really tiny ones by ant standards) swarming the crevices of the adapter. When I broke open the adapter I found a whole colony of ants inside the adapter and the tell-tale black smoke marks on the circuit as well as on the inner walls of the plastic housing.

2012-12-29 10.31.57

I was able to find the exact(?) adapter (used) on eBay for 9 US$ hopefully it will work assuming my player itself is not damaged!

But the most important thing is to beware of ANTs messing around with your electrical/electronic devices. I think mine was caused by food particles lying around in my living room….not sure who to blame though, the kids or yours truly! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

