Management, Technology, Web Development

Stanford’s Startup Engineering is pretty cool


Recently I took a  MOOC offered by Stanford through Coursera called “Startup Engineering“. I had a lot of expectations about this since Stanford was perhaps a major reason for Silicon Valley to be the hotbed of tech startups and innovation.  Having followed the course for 10 weeks I can say that my expectations were met.  Although I missed a few “soft deadlines” in submitting assignments and homework I was able to get all the assignments done before the “hard deadlines” 🙂

But for me, the learning gained was more rewarding than actually trying to get the required grades. There were a lot of takeaways both from technical point of view as well as from a business point of view. I guess the most important aspect personally for me was the ability to get a feel of the “Startup Mentality” in Silicon Valley. This was mainly because the lecturer who was also a Stanford alumni had also been part of a successful start up and is currently it’s CTO. Additionally there were a few guest lectures from just launched startups (mainly from the valley, I think) that were quite amazing and insightful.

The final project of the course is mostly for fun since it’s not considered for the final grade but I guess getting on the leader board is really good for bragging rights. The aim of the final project was to setup a KickStarter style crowdfunding page to fund a product idea (it doesn’t have to really exist) of each student. The success of the product idea (and the project ofcourse) was determined by the amount of BitCoin received and the number social shares (through Twitter and Facebook) about the product.

Unfortunately I couldn’t submit my project to the leaderboard since I had some issues with setting up BitCoin for my product site. My product idea is something probably not that cool since I forced myself to come up with an idea before some deadline 🙂

But anyways for the sake of record, the possibility of my live Heroku dyno going down and most importantly since I cannot get on the “official” leaderbaord 😉 I just thought of publishing my crowdfunding home page as an image here.

So shown below is the crowdfunding home page of my product idea (no matter how impractical/stupid it may be :)).

rail_senze

Leave a Reply

